Day Five of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for Forethought

“To be upset over what you don’t have is to waste what you do have.”
~~ Ken S. Keyes, Jr.

So my husband got up this morning to find out his van had been broken into…again. It was stolen this time two years ago. It was a horrible day. He just kept standing there inthe street, where the van used to be. It was his first really nice vehicle inhis life, a Dodge Caravan. He was so proud of it.

We got it back, but they stole a lot out of it, including an expensive GPS and they broke the key mechanism. The police think it was some kind of gang related challenge where the gang-member has to steal a car and go for a joy ride.

Luckily, after it was stolen two years ago I went out and bought him the higher end version of The Club, one of those bar thingies that fits/locks onto the steering wheel.

So while they stole the new GPS I bought him for Christmas last year, and some tools and stuff (including a drill that doesn’t work) and his leather gloves, they didn’t steel the van.

Another lucky thing is that when we went to see my mother for Christmas, she gave us a bunch of my childhood games, many that are worth a lot of money. They were all still in the van as I guess the thieves had no idea what they were or their worth. When I mentioned that to R he said, “I guess I should look at the bright side.”

I feel so bad for him, but I am just so grateful that they didn’t steel the van. So grateful I bought him that club. So grateful for the forethought to buy it. And that I had the spare income to buy the thing. Our other mode of transportation is down right now and we wouldn’t be able to do anything if the van had been taken.

He has called the police and they will come soon so he can make a report. He is going to be late for work on this mandatory overtime day. I wish I could do more for him. I can just love him. I hope that is enough.

I hesitated blogging about this…. Was it exploitive or something? Opportunistic? But then it hit me…. That is what this blog is all about. Finding the bright side. Finding the silver lining. Not falling into a despair. Making sure I look for some good in a situation.

And we still have a van!

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

Photograph by Darnok from morgueFILE

2 thoughts on “Day Five of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for Forethought

Leave a Reply

