Day Four of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for God

“My religion is very simple. My religion is kindness.”
~~ Dalai Lama

I’ve heard it said that a writer (who wants to stay popular) should never blog about religion or politics. But it’s Sunday and I’m going to do it anyway. You can skip this one if you want….

I was raised Christian. I grew up knowing the Bible stories and loving Jesus. But in my teens I discovered I was an abomination and that I would receive due penalty for my “perversion” for being “inflamed with lust” because I was committing “indecent acts with other men.”

So I left the church of my family and not long after that, pretty much left God behind as well. I figured if God hated me, why should I have anything to do with Him? If I was damned if I did and damned if I didn’t, I figured I might as well be damned for doing, right?

Somewhere along the line I rejected God all together. But they say God works in mysterious ways and some where along that way, I was quietly (and mysteriously) brought back. But this time, I began to learn to shuck the dogma. I came to see that God loved me just the way I was, just as God created me.

In the movie Yentle, the heroine prays to God. She asks why were birds given wings if not to fly, or why were we given minds if we weren’t meant to question.

That struck a deep chord inside me.

I came to see that there was a God after all. But I stopped seeing him as this old man with a white beard, sitting in a giant marble throne glowering down at us, checking His list to see who was naughty and who was nice, ready in an instant to hurl down lightning bolts (or earthquakes or cancer or AIDS or tidal waves). I came to see that there was one God, no matter what we humans may choose to call “It.”

See, what I saw as I met people of different faiths—Buddhists, Hindus, Muslims, Pagans and more—was that “God” was working in all their lives. Working and filling those lives with blessings and answering their prayers equally. “He” didn’t seem to care about any divisions (divisions we created) or belief systems or even what we call “Him.”

God created us all to be just what we are. How wondrous! How freeing! What a loving, loving God! I’m crying right now as I write this!

In the movie Dogma, there is a quote that goes: I think it’s better to have ideas. You can change an idea. Changing a belief is trickier

Wow. Wow wow wow wow wow….

So today I am grateful for God, the ever and always loving Creator of the Universe and I am humbled and overjoyed that God loves me just the way I am.

I end this today with a mantra often used at the church I attend.

There is only One Life
That Life is perfect
That Life is God’s Life
That Life is My Life now
.

Namasté,
B.G. Thomas

coexist_by_chima

3 thoughts on “Day Four of 365 Days of Silver ~~ I Am Grateful for God

Leave a Reply

